Followers
Following
Name
Ryan
Country
United States
City/State
Minneapolis, MN
I have a young son who is a couple of years into playing hockey. I've started bringing my camera along and am having fun shooting his games and practices. I am relatively new to this. So, I am curious to learn what others do when shooting hockey? What are your camera settings? What are some general tips for holding your camera and following the action? What lens do you recommend? What's your main gear? I am currently using the Sony 70-200mm F2.8 which I love. I'd love to get some tips. I'd also love to see some example hockey photos that you've taken on your Sony camera.

Depending on where the photo holes are in your ice rink, the 70-200 is great and you may want to also bring the 24-70 if you are near the goaltender. If you can find a photo hole about 6 ft or so ahead of the goaltender on the side, that would be awesome because you can shoot face-off and also most of the action in the corners and shots on goal. Behind the goal to the side makes for some interesting shots, but sometimes your view will be blocked by the players fighting over the puck. Also side note - make sure you keep your lens behind the photo hole and don't stick the telephoto through it: I've seen a puck fly right towards the hole and break someone's lens, it was an agency photographer and he was not a happy camper that day. Follow the players rather than the puck. If you follow the puck you will often end up behind the action. Look at where the players go and watch the goalie, that way you can anticipate the action and even catch some good saves. For the slap shots you can turn on the burst and sometimes you catch the stick as it bends, it looks pretty cool. For face-off, focus on the puck drop and it makes for some interesting shots. Best of luck!