Hi from remote tropical Australia

Cuppa

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Cuppa
G'day folks,
Newbie here. My wife & I have been travelling in Australia for the past 5 years, since we retired. During that time we have kept an online blog recording our travels as well as developing an interest in birds & photographing them. Our preference is to be far from the madding crowd & that is how we found ourselves in the middle of a remote rainforest toward the very tip of Australia, the Iron Range rainforest on Cape York. Another thing we have discovered as we have travelled is that we enjoy the opportunities to stop in different environments for periods long enough to observe & experience different seasons & to get to know local flora & fauna. We are not especially scientific about this, but learn through immersion. To this end we have been doing a bit of caretaking in places of interest between periods of travel. We arrived in this rainforest a month ago & expect to be here for a year.

For the past almost 5 years I have used a Sony A6500, this replaced a Canon sx10is, which did the job, but never well. On the basis of good memories of a diminutive Sony T1, I bought the A6500 & immediately gained the image quality for our blog that I had been hoping for. Unfortunately, a few weeks ago a problem arose with the A6500 which I believe to be the result of the humidity of 4 consecutive wet seasons (monsoon) in northern Australia. Over the past few weeks the intermittent problem has become an 'every time I switch it on' problem. A error message as soon as I switch the camera on saying the camera is overheating, followed by the camera switching itself off. An unreliable camera is a waste of time. Consultation with the nearest camera repair shop (2,500kms away) confirmed my fears that their is a high probability of corrosion on the camera's motherboard & that freight & repair costs make it not a viable option.