Followers
Following
Name
Jack Wu
Country
United States
City/State
Fillmore, CA
I want to invest in a new computer just for photo and video editing. I can't decide between Mac or PC. I am familiar and can navigate with both systems but would like to know what everyone's thoughts are and why one is better than the other. Thanks

I think it comes down to budget. Apple are generally considered the be all and end all for editing, but you can get some blinding Windows PC's for far less money. Unless you really want an all in one (not a fan personally, you can't easily swap HD's or upgrade) then iMac etc is the way to go, but I'd rather buy a really good screen and a tower and save myself1k in the process. BTW I am a Mac fan, I started on Mac and still have an iMac, but all of my editing is done on a Windows Laptop at the moment.

I've been using Macs since 2005 and my current editing machine is a 15" 2018 MacBook Pro: i9, 1 TB SSD. 32 GB RAM, Vega 20 discrete graphics..... It is positioned on a stand and connected to an LG 4K Thunderbolt 3 monitor, and I use the Apple BT Magic Keyboard and Magic Mouse II. For me this setup works very well and offers more flexibility than an iMac or other desktop. I can simply unplug the computer from the monitor and away we go.....

Apple is now in the process of making a shift from Intel processors to their own SOC (System on a Chip) and have released the first M1 machines, which are very fast and which have outstanding battery life. I haven't seen one yet, but those who have them love them. The M1 MacBook Air is based on the entry-level Intel MBA and is fanless, while the M1 MBP is based on the 13" entry-level Intel model. Both come with just two ports, which for me is insufficient since I use external drives fairly extensively for archving, storing, and working with my images and often have two external drives plugged in transferring files between them.