Sony A7 IV New a7iv owner questions

ToasterZapper

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Ian Southern
Hi all,

I’m new to alphashooters and also new to Sony cameras and mirrorless systems.

I’ve only had my a7iv for a few days and haven’t had chance to put it through it’s paces yet, but so far I’m really liking it and enjoying using it.

A few quick questions ahead of me posting something more meaningful in the future.

1. I’ve noticed that the lcd screen flashes/flickers briefly when pushing the shutter half way; from doing a quick Google this seems to be normal behaviour but just wanted to check whilst it’s in the return period.
2. I’ve noticed on occasion (very rare) that the camera doesn’t seem to respond to the half shutter button press and I seem to have to recompose to get it to acknowledge. Is there any explanation for this behaviour? Admittedly it could just be me.
3. I have the 28-70 kit lens with the camera. Is it just the single OSS setting in the menu that controls it for both the camera and the lens?

Thank you all in advance. Looking forward to posting here more often.

I am relatively new to Sony (but not to photography) and my only Sony body is also the A7IV, which I got at the beginning of 2022. I will try to answer based on my experience, but people who have been with Sony longer may know better.

Question 1: If the camera is either turned off or the rear screen has shut itself off by going into power save mode, then yes it may be normal to flicker on startup. Honestly I haven't noticed it, but it doesn't sound like an issue.

Question 2: I have noticed this routinely when I recharge the batteries and put them back into the camera. (I am using the extra battery grip with a holder for two batteries). It doesn't happen when I am using the camera with the batteries already installed, but when I first insert the recharged batteries and turn on the camera, it does not turn on immediately but experiences a delay of several seconds.