• ISO 100
Noses Point 9 May 23.jpg
  • ILCE-6500
  • E 11-20mm F2.8 B060
  • 20.0 mm
  • ƒ/16
  • 10/25 sec
  • ISO 100

I like #2 & 3, but what is going on with #2? Did the camera choose a wildly different white balance?

Any other reason for the drop to f5 on #3 and #4.......other than focus on the foreground and intended bokeh from the mid ground to infinity....?

Any other reason for the drop to f5 on #3 and #4.......other than focus on the foreground and intended bokeh from the mid ground to infinity....?
Just experimentation really. I'm still quite new to above the waves stuff. but yes the idea was to focus only on the pattern and the shape of the rocks. Do you think this was the wrong approach?

No it is absolutely not wrong Ian and certainly not a criticism of your work in any way.

I was just curios as to your compositional thinking.

In landscape shots you can either focus from the foreground out to infinity or
Alternatively on the foreground only with bokeh/blur for the middle ground to infinity.

The above is mainly achieved via your aperture settings, as you seem to demonstrate
in your images, whilst sometimes it is necessary To shoot the foreground to middle
ground in focus first and shoot the far distance seperately and combine in post......at
High aperture settings such as +11 the far distance becomes subject to distortion
particularly for detailed areas, and hence you may choose to have separate fore/mid
ground and far distance shots To achieve complete critical focus from foreground to
Far distance/infinity

It is personal preference at the end of the day as to what looks best or the image/perspective
you are seeking to achieve.

No it is absolutely not wrong Ian and certainly not a criticism of your work in any way.

I was just curios as to your compositional thinking.

In landscape shots you can either focus from the foreground out to infinity or
Alternatively on the foreground only with bokeh/blur for the middle ground to infinity.