Other than Photoshop or Lightroom Classic?

Janice

Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Followers
Following
Country
United States
Just read an article (wasn't sure if I could post the link to said article here) that mentioned various free editing software OTHER than Photoshop and Lightroom Classic(which are not free). Was wondering if any of you use any of the ones listed below and if you would recommend them rather than paying the monthly fee for Photoshop/Lightroom Classic? I am not a professional photographer. I don't do a lot of detailed editing (spot removal yes, but I don't do head-swaps, etc.) Just basic stuff. Here are the programs the article was mentioning.
Darktable
Gimp
Pixir Editor
Krita
Photopea

I only do basic stuff with LR and PS but one day I'll be a master!!!!! For the price of a pint/week.

I only do basic stuff with LR and PS but one day I'll be a master!!!!! For the price of a pint/week.
That's my concern. I pay the money monthly but barely use the program. Wondering if there was a free editing program that would allow me to do similar (if not the same) basic editing and I could save $120 (U.S.) per year.

That's my concern. I pay the money monthly but barely use the program. Wondering if there was a free editing program that would allow me to do similar (if not the same) basic editing and I could save $120 (U.S.) per year.
Have used Gimp in the past many years ago worth checking out tutorials on youtube and see which ones suit you best. Gimp can be a bit of a learning curve. Check this out see if it helps https://www.wix.com/blog/photography/2019/04/11/best-free-photo-editing-software Good luck .

I’d say Darktable and Gimp are pretty much at the top of the tree for free stuff and will easily do what you want and more. I say easily in a program sense, not that they’re necessarily easy to use. Raw Therapee is a Darktable alternative but not sure if it’s a windows app without checking as I have it on a Linux machine.