Recommendation for best body for wildlife with 200-600 mm, please

Alucard9100

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Hi, guys!

I’m a Canon photographer with 100-400 L now and thinking of purchasing Sony 200-600 to step up my game.

Now I’m struggling to choose between A7iii and A6600 to use with 200-600 for wildlife photography, as it seems (after reading and watching tons of reviews) that A7iii is a better camera overall, but 6600 will give me extra 300 mm of zoom with APS-C crop factor.

What would be your recommendation in this case? Do all extra features of A7iii (bigger frame, probably less noise, and focus joystick) worth losing extra 300 mm with 6600?

I will be using A6600/A7III with 200-600mm lens exclusively and also exclusively for wildlife photography.

Would appreciate your comments and advice here.

Hi, guys!

I’m a Canon photographer with 100-400 L now and thinking of purchasing Sony 200-600 to step up my game.

Now I’m struggling to choose between A7iii and A6600 to use with 200-600 for wildlife photography, as it seems (after reading and watching tons of reviews) that A7iii is a better camera overall, but 6600 will give me extra 300 mm of zoom with APS-C crop factor.

What would be your recommendation in this case? Do all extra features of A7iii (bigger frame, probably less noise, and focus joystick) worth losing extra 300 mm with 6600?

I will be using A6600/A7III with 200-600mm lens exclusively and also exclusively for wildlife photography.

Would appreciate your comments and advice here.
If you are not sure what camera to choose I would rent one and see if it meets your needs.

A7RIV, and you have mega resolution and 26mp in Crop Mode for the extra reach :)

To be honest, if your plan is to photograph birds in flight I would wait and save some more until you can get either the a9 or the a7rIV to use with the 200-600. The a9II would be ideal, but even a used classic a9 would have much faster and accurate AF compared to the a7rIII and the a6600.