Sony A7iii - Raw files - compressed VS uncompressed - there is no lossless compression available

PRSS

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Sivakumar PRS
Hello all

I see that this topic has been discussed here before. But still, my query is quite a bit different.

I am new to Sony Alpha camera, switching over from Nikon systems. Just got the new system 4 days back. This is about RAW files - compressed and non compressed.
I have already googled on this topic. of compressed Vs non compressed RAW files with Sony while other manufacturers offer lossless compression files - which I too had always had this as default on my Nikons.

They say "some situations" demand non compressed files. I am yet to understand what exactly was meant by "some situations". Is it with too much of contrast in a scene, or a scene which contained lot of fine details. Fearing loss of quality, I have set my Sony A7iii as non compressed, even though the file size is double that of compressed. Not having lossless compression came to me as a surprise !