What do you think of a 24-240 mm lens on an A1?

View the Latest Sony Lens Deals At: B&H Photo

DrJohn

Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Followers
Following
Name
Dr. John A. Allocca
Country
United States
City/State
Northport, NY
Right now I'm carrying the 70-300 mm G and 24 mm G lenses for wildlife and landscape photography. I'm also hiking several miles with the equipment, so weight is important especially at age 74.

Often, I miss a wildlife shot because I cannot switch lenses fast enough. So, I'm thinking of the 24-240 mm lens. It is a step down in image quality and doesn't do the A1 justice. Then, a missed shot doesn't do the A1 justice either.

I've been agonizing over this for many months now. I was hoping a better lens would come out. I think it may be an interesting discussion.

What do you think?

Right now I'm carrying the 70-300 mm G and 24 mm G lenses for wildlife and landscape photography. I'm also hiking several miles with the equipment, so weight is important especially at age 74.

Often, I miss a wildlife shot because I cannot switch lenses fast enough. So, I'm thinking of the 24-240 mm lens. It is a step down in image quality and doesn't do the A1 justice. Then, a missed shot doesn't do the A1 justice either.

I've been agonizing over this for many months now. I was hoping a better lens would come out. I think it may be an interesting discussion.

What do you think?
Hi Dr John,
understand the challenges of weight over long hikes but looking at the specs for the 70-300 and 24-240 it seems the weight of the 24-240 at 780 g is not much lighter than your 70-300(850 gm i believe) and the MTF charts seem to indicate the 24-240 may be soft at the long end....... the comparison charts i have seen come down quite heavily in favour of the 70-300 over the 24-240, the 70-300 which also has more favourable MTF charts - I do not own either of thee lenses so cant give practical analysis/ comparison.