Sony A7R III What would you do?

Sony A7R III Resources: Accessories | Firmware | User Guide | Price Check: B&H Photo

WhatsAnFstop?

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Keith Felch
Country
United States
City/State
Lake Elsinore, CA
Hello all! I am a newbie not only to this forum but to photography, so thank you in advance for your forebearance ; )
My wife gifted me with the choice between the A7 III and the A7R III last weekend for my birthday, plus the Sony 24-240 lens. Yes, she is definitely a keeper!
My enthusiasm for this new undertaking was ignited by our acquisition of a rustic little cabin in the Northern California Coastal Redwoods. It feels like being on the forest moon of Endor, living with the Ewoks. Amazing!
The 7R was on sale for only $300 more than the 7, and I am in the enviable position of being able to keep either camera.
If you were me, which would you choose?
Thank you in advance!

Last edited:
I'd go with the R, because it has the greater resolution.

Having the 7 now I think I would choose the R over it for cropping, I think the 7 has more autofocus points so if sports is your thing stick with the 7

With that lens the R will go to waste anyhow, so 7

Edit: if you don't spend about as much in glass as you do in the body you will end up with an unbalanced system. One of the items will be a choke-point to the other. With the 24-240 the lens will clearly be the choke-point especially with an A7R3.

As a rule of thumb: zooms have worse IQ than primes. The longer the zoom range of a zoom the worse it's optical qualities will be (because of the compromises made to achieve that great of a range).
I would suggest going with the A7iii and use the saved money to go with the 24-105 zoom instead.

Last edited:
With that lens the R will go to waste anyhow, so 7