Accidentally shot videos in photo mode Sony A7IV

roshchristian

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Rosh
Hi all,

I'm still quite new to the Sony A7IV as I am learning how to use this camera through trial and error.

I am currently vlogging my Hawaii trip and I go back and forth with video mode and photo mode. I accidentally filmed my videos on photo mode with around 30-50 video files that were filmed in photo mode. Does anyone know what should I do to recover these video files from the photo section of my SD Card THMBNL folder to my CLIP folder? Nothing has been deleted as I have these files still but I really do hope this is not a major issue because I would still like to have these video files recovered so I can add them to my Youtube Vlog. Has anyone gone through this problem? I would highly appreciate any help! Thanks!

Welcome to the Forum Rosh. I have an A7IV myself, but have never done what you have done. Have you tried playing any of the clips that you shot that way?

How is it possible to film videos in photo mode? Isn't the camera either set for still photos or videos? If it was in photo mode, don't you end up with 30-50 photos and NOT "hidden" video clips?

Also a 7M4. I am not a video person, but on the rare occasion I do, I just push the video button while still in photo mode. The files are in a different folder, can't recall what it's named, possibly 'private', but they download like any other file. This shouldn't be an issued at all.

How is it possible to film videos in photo mode? Isn't the camera either set for still photos or videos? If it was in photo mode, don't you end up with 30-50 photos and NOT "hidden" video clips?
There is a switch to say “I am in video mode”, and there’s a red button to say “record video now”.
My understanding is the you can press the red button even in photo mode (I don’t know if you can press the shutter button in video mode) and it does record video.