Advice needed for 1st time Alpha purchaser to be.

RubenAlonzo

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Ruben Aceves
Greetings Everyone,

My name is Ruben an I am new here, I plan on purchasing a new Sony Alpha A series camera on May 31st for my 53rd birthday. I have always been a fan of Sony cameras since the A300/350 debuted years ago, though have never owned one. I have extensive knowledge of the Nikon D40 (I still own mine with the 50mm prime) and am finally looking to jump on the mirrorless bandwagon. I have been looking closely at the Alpha A7 II as my first Sony and would like to hear from you all that have experience with this body is it is a good match for a noob lilke myself?

I am most likely going to get a 50mm prime lens for the body as my first lens besides the included kit lens. On that note, how do you all feel about the 28-70 kit lens and what lens would you all recommend instead? My budget is about $1,500 and I am not averse to buying used if I can get a good deal but also I can buy new and simply wait for other lenses. Thank you all for reading.

Greetings Everyone,

My name is Ruben an I am new here, I plan on purchasing a new Sony Alpha A series camera on May 31st for my 53rd birthday. I have always been a fan of Sony cameras since the A300/350 debuted years ago, though have never owned one. I have extensive knowledge of the Nikon D40 (I still own mine with the 50mm prime) and am finally looking to jump on the mirrorless bandwagon. I have been looking closely at the Alpha A7 II as my first Sony and would like to hear from you all that have experience with this body is it is a good match for a noob lilke myself?