Another (soon to be) Sony convert

conger71

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Andrew West
Hi everyone

After a lot of research (too much - my partner has the patience of a saint), I have recently sold my Nikon gear (a D2xS with 17-55, 80-400, 105 macro and a Tamron 12-24) in order to move to full frame mirrorless. I have dropped the hammer on a Sony A7III with 24-105mm f4 as a starting point, and I am 99.99% confident that I will be getting the 100-400mm to supplement. I am stupidly excited to see what a performance upgrade this will be, in terms of AF, ISO performance and general usability.

I am a keen hobbyist, but looking to really get to grips with Lightroom and PS, as up to this point I have been admittedly lazy and shot mostly jpeg with minimal (and probably very amateurish) processing. But the results were pleasing to my eye, but I know I can get so much more, with good technique and importantly, feedback from those who know far better than I do, on forums like this.

I have varied interest in landscape, occasional wildlife, family or pet shots, and also finding the abstract from the normal. I have a stupid amount to learn, but looking forward to this next chapter.

I'm based in the countryside - just on the Suffolk/Essex border close to Nayland - with some stunning countryside in easy reach. I'm engaged to a very patient and loving woman, who I think is itching to get into the photography bug herself. I have a beautiful 18 year old daughter who can't stand being photographed (looking forward to being able to shoot in stealth mode); I have become a step-father to 3 rescue dogs who are far more willing to model for outdoor photoshoots (walks).

Looking forward to contributing, and learning and loving the Sony platform, tech and lenses.

ATB.

Andrew