Best wildlife shooting tips/tricks or accessories?

Gigi

Newcomer
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Followers
Following
Hello!

I'm a new wildlife shooter.
What are your best tips, tricks or accessories?
I have an a6500 and I have a 100-400GM lens.

Thanks!

ah, good question, thanks for posting ,I'm new to Sony so I will follow this thread with great interest

Carry spare batteries and make sure they are charged ;)

Do some homework on the area and especially the species you plan to photograph.

But my best advice, just go out and shoot. Get to know your equipment and setup, but most of all have fun.

Camo netting and a broad brimmed hat. I've had birds land on my head while using this stuff.

Don't make sudden moves when you see something.
Always slowly point your camera in the direction of your subject.
Try to rent a hide, so you can test some things.
Go to Richmond Park in Sep/Oct for the dears.

I go for walks with my GF, and I've finally broken her out of the habit of pointing at something she sees before me! When you point at something, you're telling that thing that it has your attention, and it will run off!

Some other notes from my experiences:
- As others have said, move slowly, when looking around, and when you see something, don't rush to point your camera at it. Just getting out and shooting is a huge thing and you'll be amazed at how after a few trips, you'll find that you approach situations differently!
- If you're going to stay in roughly the same spot, get a hide (I personally don't have the patience for one, so I prefer to hike).
- Stay around the edge of a forest / lake. This will combine two ecosystems and allow for more chances at seeing something interesting!
- I prefer flexible spot with AF-C. Nothing has frustrated me like trying to take a picture of a bird who goes in front of something and all of a sudden my camera is like "OH! PRETTY FOLIAGE!" and focuses on that. It takes getting used too, but it's well worth it imo.