Sony A6500 Flash for Sony a6500

Sony A6500 Resources: Firmware | User Guide

Hosserdog

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Jan Goodman
I am a COMPLETE novice when it comes to off-camera flash! After purchasing the Sony a6500 a few years ago, in my "beginner's" enthusiasm I bought every possible accessory I THOUGHT I might need :rolleyes: :unsure: This included a Neewer NW400s flash and a Neewer N1s TTL Wireless Flash Trigger. Works fine as long as it is on the camera but I could never get it to work off-camera. I researched and researched, thinking it was some simple setting I didn't have right. I even called Neewer for help and was told the flash trigger I bought was not the correct one (although it was ALL supposed to be compatible with each other when I bought it. I basically just put it away for years.

I really want to use it, so I started doing more research and came across something that caught my eye. I don't have a "receiver" for the flash. Is this why it isn't working??? (I TOLD you I am a NOVICE!!!!). Common sense (I have a LITTLE) says this could be the answer! If this is the problem, could someone recommend something that would work with what I have. If this isn't the issue, what do I need? I really hope I can make what I already purchased work without having to replace everything.

Thank you so much for any help/advice!

Jan

Welcome aboard!
Like you I bought a ton of stuff for my a6400, unfortunately the flash [godox] I have sits unused and unloved so I can't help lol
Hopefully someone will come along that can answer your flash questions.

As far as I know that flash can be used wirelessly and has its own receiver, it shouldn't need a separate receiver. You would have to make sure the trigger and flash are on the same frequency (channel), but other than that it should trigger it ok.