Hello from Kentucky!

dennisnky

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Dennis Luchtefeld
Ultra novice here, just been trying to learn how to take pictures that turn out better than my smartphone. No ambitions to be professional, but would like to be able to catch a few shots here and there at family gatherings, when traveling, and during any other memorable events--and that the pictures be nice enough that I could pick a few now and then to frame printed large (like 20" x 30" or something like that). I'm starting to do some more international traveling soon, so hoping to make good use of the camera with those trips. I have a 20 year old daughter planning a wedding and a 3 year old into everything, and I have over 50 first cousins if you include their spouses, so there are always places to visit and people to see. Hoping to learn all critical fundamentals so that I'm avoiding the most common errors in method.

As for equipment, so far I have the Sony A7IV along with the (all Sony) FE 20mm f/1.8 G, FE 55mm f/1.8 ZA, and the FE 85mm f/1.8. I haven't learned enough about filters yet.

For a next lens, I've been debating between the 35/f1.4GM, 135/f1.8GM, 70-200/f2.8GM, and the 200-600/f5.6-6.3. I want them all, but just a matter of in which order. Since I'm not doing anything professionally, I'm budgeting for 1 or 2 lens purchases per year, max. I took some pictures at a Concours car show this past weekend and just used the 55mm and seemed like I was constantly having to take a few steps back, which was annoying, so that makes me lean towards getting a 35mm, but I'm going to wait and see if I can just get more used to standing the right distance away. It may just be because I'm so accustomed to using my phone that my natural place to stand hasn't corrected yet.