Name
Sharon Lane
Country
United States
City/State
Texas
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
I am an amateur photographer of many years. I live in north Texas on a small (for Texas) ranch. Avid wildlife and bird photographer. I have always had a camera (1st camera was a Brownie) but made the switch to wildlife/birds when I came to the ranch. I wanted to catalog all the flora and fauna (still working on it). I started photographing birds when I couldn't look them up in a field guide fast enough.

I recently made the switch to Sony from Nikon (with a short stop at Panasonic, not a fan of 4 thirds). I look forward to increasing my knowledge of camera and lens (see below) and shooting in general skills (C and C will be most welcomed). And I am starting with Lightroom for cataloging, etc..

I am researching a landscape/general (occasionally people) lens to compliment the ones below. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Camera: A1
Lenses: Sony FE 200-600mm OSS
Sony FE 70-200mm GM OSS II
Sony 1.4 TC

Last edited:
Hi, Sharon.

Welcome.

The next choice for a lens for you looks like a Sony 24-70 F 2.8GM II for landscape/general (occasionally people). There's no OSS for this lens, but you shouldn't miss it because you've got In Body Image Stabilization in the A1.

I don't have one (yet), because I've already got that range covered by a couple of other lenses. (16-35 and 24-105)

Cheers!

Thanks! I will take a look.

A nice companion lens for long lens is the 24-105 G F4. A nice light, sharp and cheap lens with lots of focal ranges.

My .02 cents would be a 100 or 70 mm macro not too big and can be used for shooting people or plants, bugs anything close up without being too huge or heavy.