Name
ST
Country
Canada
City/State
British Columbia
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
Two questions, and I'm open to all comments and suggestions - thanks.

1. How much background would you include? (A/B/C)
2. Is this too much of a cliché (photog 101 stuff) with the eagle dead centre at the scooped shape of the mountains in the background?

A. Eagle with a backdrop of the shore, the city, and the mountains.
A1_00877.jpg
  • ILCE-1
  • Sony FE 200–600mm F5.6–6.3 G OSS (SEL200600G)
  • 600.0 mm
  • ƒ/6.3
  • 1/500 sec
  • ISO 160

B. Cropped so the background is more abstract
A1_00877 1.jpg
  • ILCE-1
  • 600.0 mm
  • ƒ/6.3
  • 1/500 sec
  • ISO 160

C. Same eagle with a plain background. I walked around, so there was only sky behind it.
A1_00883.jpg
  • ILCE-1
  • 600.0 mm
  • ƒ/7.1
  • 1/500 sec
  • ISO 100

As a beginner myself, I'm not sure my comment is of much value, but for what it's worth, I don't think there is a correct answer to your question. I think it depends on (a) what is it that you are trying to convey and (b) who is your target audience. If you're interested in conveying the beauty of the environment to a general audience, I think (A) would be best, but I would want more depth of field so that the background is more in focus. If you're interested in portraying the bird in a somewhat unusual environment, to a generalist audience, I think (B) or (A) works and if to a bird lover audience, I think (B) works best. Finally, if you're interested in focusing on the bird, perhaps to a bird lover audience, I think (C) works best of the three - but I'd try to get in tighter. I don't have an issue with the central positioning of the bird.