Site Supporter
Followers
Following
Country
United States
City/State
Herndon, VA
Hi everyone,

I'm new to using filters, and would like some advice on choosing the right ones.

My widest lens is the SEL2470GM at 82mm. Then SAL70400G at 77mm. Next is 72mm. Lots of old glass in the 50mm range.

What is the benefit of going beyond 100x100 to 100x150?

Are the LEE filters that much better than the cheap filters from China?

I'm mostly interested in ND filters for waterfalls and for grad ND's for those times when sky and ground/water are far apart in dynamic range. Maybe a 'sunset' type filter for dramatic effect.

Any other suggestions for good quality brand names?

Thanks in advance for any suggestions! Russ

Hi,

I've used Lee, Nisi, Irix, and now Kase (magnetic) filters. I think Lee are very overpriced, to be honest. Standard Lee ND grads are resin, but glass filters (e.g. Nisi) tends to be of higher quality optically and harder to scratch. I'd choose Nisi over Lee without a doubt, though neither is cheap. I've seen studies showing that most filters, including *most* cheap ones, will not appreciably degrade the image, but *some* cheap filters do. The main problem with cheap filters are a) flare and b) cleaning. Both are related to the coatings and these *do* make quite a big difference. Lee resin filters, in my experience, are a b**** to clean smudges from, especially in the field. Their NDs are not much better.