Photo shop

Tinopener

Followers
Following
Name
Gary
Hi all
As I'm a kind of newbie at photography should I be using Photoshop to make my photos crisper and get rid of unwanted items captured .... Thank you Gary

Entirely up to you. I only crop my photos, no sharpening, or manipulation. Others have very different views. Horses for courses.

All's fair in love and photography, there are no rules so you can do whatever you like with your photos. The only exception is that you must not break any rules if you enter them for a competition.
PS Other image manipulation software is available.

Hi, JMO but if you don't have Photoshop just now I would go for Affinity photo alongside Faststone viewer as a DAM (FREE Software).
Affinity probably not quite as good as Photoshop but a lot, lot cheaper option to start with.
Russ.

Russell's advice is good. Once you get sucked into Adobe you'll live with their monthly fee forever. Affinity is priced fairly, a one-time cost, and updates are free. They've only issued one new version that cost $ over several years and have already updated it 3 times at no cost.

Faststone is free. It takes a second to learn the navigation and best workflow, but it's a good program. In fact, if you're only doing simple edits it does that too.

If you want something as powerful as Photoshop/Lightroom and is totally free, look at Darktable. I've been using is as my main processing program for years. It is well supported and updated regularly. Be advised the is a steep learning curve at the beginning. It is also best used to process RAW.

A friend down loaded Gimble on my computer but for the life of me I don't know how it works
I was thinking they all might work the same so might see if my local college does a photo shop/lightroom course .. Gary