Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Followers
Following
Country
United Kingdom
City/State
Lincolnshire
I know the reviews are all over Youtube and the like but I could do with some real life discussion about the pros and cons of these two Teleconverters.

I have the SEL100400GM so both T/Cs are compatible
I'm not sure what my 'style' is yet so I can't even say I'm a bird photographer. I imagine my tastes are quite eclectic and I'm looking for more pull on the lens for no particular reason.
Is the loss of 2 f stops a problem on the 2x particularly when this lens starts at f/5.6 @ 400mm?
Is the 1.4x worth the effort/expense?
I imagine these appear regularly as second hand items which I would think is the best way of trying them.

Anyway, if you've got one do you use it? Do you leave it on your lens because it's so good? Does it sit in your bag gathering dust?

I have the 1.4X teleconverter and really like it. It is usually mated to my 100-400mm and I don't see any degradation. Fully zoomed in this provides 560mm and F8. I would say that I have it on the lens about 1/2 the time, mostly shooting wildlife.

I have used the 1.4 extensively on my 200 600, and, in decent light there's no degradation in IQ, though I have noticed it on some shots when the subject is at great range and I'm pushing the boundaries of what is really possible (handheld at least). That said, I've had some blinding results shooting butterflies with it in crop mode on the RIV, so an equivalent focal length of 1260mm. It's a very useful addition for me, and I can image it's just as good on the 100 400.
I felt that the 2x was too much of a sacrifice on a zoom lens, you would need really good light all of the time. Fine on a 2.8 or f4 Prime though.

That's pretty much my thoughts ref the 2x. It's about the same price as the 1.4x and I suppose there is a reason for that.

A lot depends on the body/lens combo.