Creative block

Smudge04015

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Brian Cole
So, I can't believe I'm the only one and I know it's be asked before... What do you do to overcome a lack of inspiration? The weather has been all over the place this week, literally lol, t-shirts and upper 60's on Wednesday and a foot of snow yesterday. I've got bright sun, blue skies (no clouds whatsoever) and incredibly over-exposing snow. I've been trying to learn LR and PS but need to take a break. I'm still brand new to this hobby and love it but right now, I'm in a rut.

~B

Hole up and ride it out. This is my worst and least productive time of year. I live in SE Mich, so our climate is similar to yours. To add to it, I suffer from SAD. If you're a male in the northern hemisphere in winter, you're probably lacking vitamin D. I am taking a multi-vitamin on my doctor's advice to get more D, and after two weeks I think I feel a difference.

1. Try some low-light or flash photography
  2. Watch some tutorials or How-To's
  3. Do something not directly related to photography but will yield results later. Example: I set up some bird feeding stations over winter. Hardly any action at all until just lately. This morning I walked out to install a squirrel baffle, and found a Downy Woodpecker, a Black Capped Chickadee, and a House Finch feeding. As soon as the weather becomes acceptable, I'll set up my blind and have a go.
  4. Plan a garden to attract backyard photography subjects like animals, birds, and insects.
  5. Buy some photography accessories. You'll feel better, trust me...

Whatever you end up doing, just know it'll come back. Everyone goes through it.

I was just recently introduced to this youtube channel called The Photographic Eye and this video in which your question is answered quite well. You might get something from it.
Like Brownie said, everyone goes through it.