Greetings from Niagara!

Freddy

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Hello everyone,

My name is Freddy and I just bought my first good camera.....a Sony a7c. I am so excited to start using it.
A bit of background.
I am a luthier (guitar maker) and I have a you tube channel in which I post vlog style videos showing the process of guitar building. I also take stills of finished guitars for my website. A couple of weeks ago I was filming in my shop with a PanasonicFZ35 (just a point and shoot) and I thought it was secure on the tripod but nope! Crashed to the concrete floor and that was the end of that camera! So I was actually kind of glad....perfect excuse to go camera shopping!
Anyway, I don't know much about photography technically, but I am eager to learn.

Freddy

Welcome!
I bet you can make some great videos and stills with that A7C. I tried to teach myself how to play guitar a few times but never kept at it. As a result, I still have an appreciation for the craftsmanship required to make (and play) a guitar. Looking forward to your content!

Thanks Nikon333 and Fowler!

So I'm just finishing a new guitar and wondering how to shoot it. First of all, it's red. For some reason I've always had trouble shooting red guitars....especially if it's a sunburst where there is a gradient from red to yellow. Never looks right and I don't know why.

But this one is not a burst, it's a solid red.... a candy finish. So the lighting will be critical I'm sure. At least that's how it looks to my naked eye. It looks entirely different under florescent, incandescent or sunlight. Oh boy....I have a feeling that i'm staring down the opening of a rabbit hole ! lol

Thanks Nikon333 and Fowler!

So I'm just finishing a new guitar and wondering how to shoot it. First of all, it's red. For some reason I've always had trouble shooting red guitars....especially if it's a sunburst where there is a gradient from red to yellow. Never looks right and I don't know why.