Followers
Following
Name
Andrew
Country
United Kingdom
City/State
Berkshire
First post so thought I would say hello to all from the UK.
I have yet to buy a Alpha camera but have decided mirrorless is the route for me.

Coming from a Canon and undecided if I will sell the kit or just hold on to it, reason for change is weight and size mostly which has recently meant I generally don’t take it on day trips and resort to iPhone (Yeah I know!)

Existing kit;
  • Canon 5D Mark iii
  • Canon EF 24-70mm F4L IS USM
  • Canon EF 50mm F1.8 ii
  • Tamron SP 70-300mm F4-5.6 Di VC USD

Whilst I’m a hobbyist that enjoys taking pictures of nature, landscape and family trips I am hoping to do more of it and take a mirrorless with me too more locations by hand or small bag and not my current heavy backpack.

I am not sure what to get but trying to stay under the £2,000 budget.
Current thoughts…

A7 iii
Not going to wait for the A7 iv as it will probably be beyond my budget and likely won’t need the features this has. The A7 iii model looks like a replacement to my Canon 5D Mark iii nicely with much better autofocus, and lighter.

A7R iii
I don’t know if this is a good step forward for me, it seems to have less focus points but more megapixels, which seems like an upgrade but I am unsure if this is right for me, it would mean larger file sizes and I also don’t print out big, so maybe wasted.

if I went for the A7R iv it would be grey import for this specific model (yes I am aware of the pros and cons of this).

I wouldn’t know what kit range to get but thinking of the following combos (it won’t be purchased all at once)
  1. T 20mm + S 28-70mm + T 70-300mm
  2. S 28-70mm + S 85mm + S 100-400mm
  3. T 20mm + S 28-70mm + S 100-400mm
[S = Sony, T = Tamron]

Thoughts and opinions highly welcomed!

Last edited:
I can't comment on the full frame cameras since I have only experienced APSC, but Welcome! There are some really knowledgeable people here.