Sony A6600 Lens' for A6600

littlerody

Newcomer
Followers
Following
I think I have made up my mind to buy an A6600. It will be my first mirrorless camera. I'm looking for something to shoot photos of my children as they are playing hockey as well as to take travel photos.

I am eyeing up the Sony 70-350mm for hockey and the Sony E 16-55mm f2.8 for an all-purpose lens. Am I on the right track here? I've never had a Sony camera before.

i'm no expert, so take it with a grain of salt:

70-350 is likely a good focal range for hockey, but depending on the lighting, i'd suspect that it might be a tad slow. you might consider the 70-200F4 or 70-200 2.8 w/ teleconverter (depends on your experience and budget, of course)

for an all purpose lens, the 16-55 is a great lens no doubt, but depending on the types of scenarios you find yourself in you may want to consider the 18-135 it isn't as fast (obviously) but it is very compact and performs quite well in a very handy focal range.

*YMMV, void where prohibited, advice does not constitute coherent thought and should be taken as such.

While the 28-200 starts at 2.8, it ends at 5.6 so i guess it would depend on where you find yourself focally. the 70-180 is a fixed 2.8 though and seems to be well reviewed?

there is also a 70-200 2.8 sigma and tamaron for e mount that are about half the price of the sony.

I think I have made up my mind to buy an A6600. It will be my first mirrorless camera. I'm looking for something to shoot photos of my children as they are playing hockey as well as to take travel photos.

I am eyeing up the Sony 70-350mm for hockey and the Sony E 16-55mm f2.8 for an all-purpose lens. Am I on the right track here? I've never had a Sony camera before.