Followers
Following
Name
Chris
Country
United States
City/State
Pembroke Pines/FL
February's monthly competition was amazing, truly great to see so much participation!

For context, I don't shoot B&W. By the time I dipped a toe into photography, I was already in the era that spawned digital photography, therefore I have no B&W film experience. That said, it was a fun challenge to try to find a scene that I could edit from color to monochrome. I did some research online, and edited as much as I could, but ultimately I don't think I picked a scene that was ideal for B&W.

So for discussion, did you learn anything from the exercise of shooting/editing Black & White? Or any other musings about the topic you want to share?

What were your also-rans, if you had any? Your camera can shoot B&W without having to convert in post. Set it up and go out for a walk with B&W in mind.

I went out and looked for subjects that I thought would translate well to B&W. I also looked at other shots that I had taken within the time period of contest rules that again, would translate well to B&W. I think I ended up with 5 or 6 choices.

I do occasionally shoot something and convert it to B&W when I see its possibilities, sometimes at the scene or later when at the computer editing. Somehow I never quite got around to doing something for this competition, though!

In general, for me what works best in B&W is a scene involving something which is fairly simple, with lines or texture, -- or perhaps a scene which is dramatic conveying mood and/or lots of contrast. A minimalist approach can be really effective, too. In B&W, contrast is the big thing, though, which captures a viewer's attention, draws it to the image and may keep it lingering there.....

For that matter, though, contrast is important in color photography, too, but B&W is where it is notable and can really shine.