Followers
Following
Name
Dr. John A. Allocca
Country
United States
City/State
Northport, NY
I sold my A7RIV and A9 on eBay. I rarely used the A7RIV and sold it with less than 500 shutter actuations. I loved the A9, but had problems with the exposure compensation dial. Shooting flying birds is often a matter of acrobatics. And, no matter what, I keep spinning the exposure compensation dial with my thumb. I was planning to buy the A9ii, which has a lock on the exposure compensation. However, B&H is closed for passover right now. So, I'm starting to think about the A1, which is better than the A9ii but $2000 more. I'm a hobbyist, not a pro photographer. Do I need the higher resolution? I have a 12 x 18 photo I had printed taken with the A6600 APS-C camera and you can see every detail in the birds feathers.

Puzzled,
John

========================================================================================================
FINAL DECISION - 4/26/22:

First, I want to thank everyone for their input. It was helpful and kind.

My head was saying get the A1. My gut was saying get the A9ii. When I had the A9 and A7RIV, I liked the A9 (except for the exposure control knob) better even though the A7RIV was a higher resolution camera. This may not be logical, which is highly unlike me. I almost never crop photos because they become something different and not what I experienced. Back in my college days, I was doing wedding photography on the weekends. I had to crop to give customers the photos they wanted. But, for myself, I prefer to keep the image I experienced. I do little to no post processing for the same reason. I teach a course and wrote a book "Self-Discovery and Healing Through Photography." It is all about the emotions that are uncovered through one's artwork. So, I ordered the A9ii today.

Thank you again for everyone's input.

John