Thoughts on editing, love it ,hate it , have a say, it is part of the digital photography age how are you doing?

spudhead

Legendary Member
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Followers
Following
Name
Gary
Country
United Kingdom
So editing it is a big part of digital photography, how are you doing? what software are you using, do you hate it, have you got to grips with it? , do you use masks? are you shooting raw or jpeg, have a say what ever it is. Just for the record I am probably the odd one out on here I use capture one pro 2022 and topaz AI

I have Lightroom on my phone, iPad and desktop. The iphone/iPad version offers more pre-sets which I like to use first, then I adjust further.

I haven’t purchased pre-sets for the desktop version but I still enjoy using it.

I’m a rank amateur at Lightroom and should really do a course or something.

Sometimes I just import raw straight to iPhone from camera and adjust in photos app, which I’m very familiar with because of years of just using my phone for photos.

You’re spot on though. It’s a significant part of production these days.

RAW

Love it: When doing casual shooting.
Hate it: When I have a deadline and thousands of images to go through.

Affinity for casual stuff.
Darktable for mass processing.

Affinity + Darktable when there's serious noise reduction to be done.

I'm terrible at post. Right now for super casual - Snapseed on iPhone/iPad.

My go-to RAW developer is Topaz Photo AI. Just started to play with Luminar Neo today. Liking it so far.
Took a flyer on the Creative Cloud PS/LR combo and not getting much use so far.

Steep learning curve.

Cut my teeth using film, like the principle of getting it right in camera as far as possible.

Minimal editing, very rarely do any processing. I didn't retire to sit at a computer and since doing so, rarely have the time.

Mostly shoot jpeg as I'm happy with the results. It'll be a long time until I fill up a 512Gb memory card.