Following
Name
Terry
Country
United States
City/State
Virginia
Hello folks,
I read a rumor on a different forum that someone damaged their camera by using a lens converter. I’m about to use a smart converter on an Irix 150mm F mount. Is this risk? I’ve never used them before.

Last edited:
The worry is cheap lens adapters - some are not machined very well, and they can damage the mount on your camera. I think the most frightening story I read was about a cheap adapter tearing out some of the contacts in the lens mount - not a cheap repair.

I have/have had at least a dozen different cheap adapters, $25 or less. Most were M-4/3, one for Sony. The Sony adapter is form A to E mount and cost $17. I have never had a problem. Try to stick with a known brand like Fotodiox, and use care when mounting the first time. Stop if there's any resistance on either side, but especially the camera side.

I saw a new adapter the other day for Minolta MC-MD > E mount that does double-duty as an adjustable macro tube. It has a heli-coil that can be adjusted for length from zero for straight adapter out to whatever the max length was. For $30, I'm going to give it a shot.

I have/have had at least a dozen different cheap adapters, $25 or less. Most were M-4/3, one for Sony. The Sony adapter is form A to E mount and cost $17. I have never had a problem. Try to stick with a known brand like Fotodiox, and use care when mounting the first time. Stop if there's any resistance on either side, but especially the camera side.

I saw a new adapter the other day for Minolta MC-MD > E mount that does double-duty as an adjustable macro tube. It has a heli-coil that can be adjusted for length from zero for straight adapter out to whatever the max length was. For $30, I'm going to give it a shot.
Thank you Tim. I‘m going to try a Smart adapter so I can control the aperture.

Terry

Last edited:
Thank you Tim. I‘m going to try a Smart adapter so I can control the aperture.

Terry