Greetings from northern Michigan

kentbabb

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Kent
Hi, all. I just found this forum, and am looking forward to learning from everyone.

I've been an amateur photographer for over 30 years - loved my film camera, but was VERY slow getting into digital. About 6 years ago, I won a Fuji X-T10 in an online contest, and my passion took a dramatic turn. I used and abused the heck out of that Fuji, and then about 2 years ago I upgraded to a Sony a7IV, and I am in heaven.

Landscapes are my thing. I love nature and being outdoors, and it doesn't hurt that I can see Lake Michigan from in front of my house. I will dabble in other areas of photography, but outdoors/nature is where I'm most excited. (I really can't get into taking photos of people, because I hate having my own picture taken!)

I have attached an example of what northern Michigan has to offer. (Sony a7IV, Sony FE 20mm F1.8 G, ISO 400, 4 sec.)
DSC02385-Edit.jpg
  • ILCE-7M4
  • FE 20mm F1.8 G
  • 20.0 mm
  • ƒ/1.8
  • 4 sec
  • ISO 400

So, this is me, and I'm looking forward to all I get learn from you.
Kent

Welcome!

Whereabouts Kent? Lake MI covers a pretty good stretch. I'm in Monroe County, just across the border from Washtenaw.

Looking at your image, are those the towers of the Mackinac Bridge I see above the horizon? If so I can reckon about where you're at.

Welcome aboard, nice to see someone else from Michigan.

Whereabouts Kent? Lake MI covers a pretty good stretch. I'm in Monroe County, just across the border from Washtenaw.

Looking at your image, are those the towers of the Mackinac Bridge I see above the horizon? If so I can reckon about where you're at.

Welcome aboard, nice to see someone else from Michigan.
Hey, Brownie,

I am up in Charlevoix. Yes, those look like the Mackinac Bridge towers, but they aren't. However, a LOT of my pics are taken around the Mighty Mac. Hello to another Michigander!

Hey, Brownie,