Followers
Following
Name
Chris
Country
United States
City/State
Maryland
Hey everyone! Not an Alpha shooter quite yet, but I hope to be soon. Currently shoot with a Nikon D810. I’m just a hobbyist with a penchant for expensive things, lol. I’d classify myself as a landscape/street shooter, however I also take “portraits” of my daughters when they feel like cooperating.

I’m eyeing the A7Riv knowing it’s way more than I need. As far as lenses, I really can’t decide. For my Nikon I have the Nikkor 14-24 2.8, 50 1.8 and 24-120 4. I’ve always wanted a 70-200 2.8, maybe now is my time?!

Looking forward to expanding my photography knowledge here.

Thanks for joining Chris! The a7R IV is a beast! There are quite a few lenses to choice from for the E-mount today. If you like to shoot wide then there's the new Sony 12-24 F2.8 GM but it costs almost as much as the a7R IV! The Sigma 14-24mm F/2.8 DG DN lens also receives a lot of love but costs a lot less. The Sony FE 24-105 F4 G is a very popular choice for this focal range. The Sony FE 70-200 F2.8 GM is a great lens but pretty big and heavy. Tamron now also have their 70-180mm f/2.8 Di III VXD which is much lighter and cheaper, although there's no stabilization and the autofocus performance doesn't compete with the Sony version.

I will say, the 14-24 doesn't get as much use as I thought it would when I bought it. So I'd probably not worry about that, at least not at first. I've been looking at the 24-105 4 and the Zeiss 55 1.8 and well a ton of others trying to figure out what I'd like to run with. I will say on the Nikon I'm certainly happier with the shots on the 50 1.8 than I am with the 24-120 4. I think that's due to only running a 35 1.8 on my D7000 prior to the D810, so I'm just used to that FL.

Looks like I should have at least pulled the trigger on the camera yesterday as it's back up to full MSRP now. Shucks!