Followers
Following
Name
Shon Ong
Country
Singapore
City/State
Singapore
I’m new to Sony system and taken some time to understand the current FE system lens map. I understand there are f2.8 versions of 12-24, 24-70, 70-200, 200-600 (non f2.8). For the things I shoot and the lenses I acquired for my other systems (Canon,Nikon, Fuji and Panasonic) I often find myself going for the trinity zooms. Switching to Sony now, I realise that there is a 4th zoom that completely covers from 12 to 600. The last would be a great 2nd lens for my wildlife and birding use.

Want to know how many of us here had this setup and able to share your experience owning them? Eg. Too heavy, big, exp, usage etc

12-600?

You've got some expensive glass listed there!

Sounds like you're asking mostly about the 200-600. Plenty of info on this forum and review sites. The lens is outstanding, and what's more it plays very well with the 1.4 and 2X TCs, which means you can really get to 1200mm if you want. Is it big and heavy? Of course, but the slower aperture makes it more compact than it could be. It's internal zoom so doesn't trombone, which also improves weather sealing. The zoom is as smooth as silk and a very short throw. Some complain that it will zoom from gravity because it's so smooth.

I'm kind of like you, not a big prime shooter, so I only own one fast prime and stick with zooms for the most part. I have no real need for anything too wide and have done plenty of indoor shooting in museums, abandoned buildings, caves, etc. with 16-17mm so, my widest is the Tamron 17-28/2.8. Also, I don't need every lens to be 2.8. I buy them thinking in context of the intended use. I do a lot outdoors and find f/4 to be plenty in those cases. They are more compact and lighter for long days in the field and you're only giving up one stop. The camera can handle that easily.