A6400 Video struggles

Scott D

Original poster
Followers
Following
Jan 12, 2021
Name
Scott Dellefave
Hi, i'm new to video recording and am starting up a DIY You Tube channel. I've recorded about 8-9 projects and i'm just not very happy with the picture quality before I bring it into Davinci Resolve for post editing. The picture is grainy and not sharp. I've watch dozens of A6400 video settings youtube videos and I think my settings are as most of those videos say to use. Below are the settings...if anybody has suggestions on why this is happening or how to fix I would appreciate the feedback. Attached is a still from a video i shot to show a before view of a kitchen. here is a video link https://youtu.be/lR4GeqW7jks and a second raw video clip of some woodworking https://youtu.be/6iPPfATIKTg
is it just because i need to clean up the picture in post? I would have thought the video quality would have been better than this though without editing.

kit 16-50mm 3.5lense
Shutter Priority: 1/60
Usually F 3.5
Format XAVC S HD
Record Setting 30p 50M
Focus Area Wide
Picture profile off
AF On
Metering Mode Multi

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2021-01-27 at 4.42.26 PM copy.jpg
    Screen Shot 2021-01-27 at 4.42.26 PM copy.jpg
    278.6 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:

FowlersFreeTime

Pro Member
Pro Member
Followers
Following
Nov 19, 2020
Name
Chris Fowler
Country
United States
City/State
Pembroke Pines/FL
Welcome Scott, good to see another a6400 YouTuber on the forum!
Here is my channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC_ulUEPSWk9vdcGZULOLHPg
I have been making cooking videos and I usually shoot with these settings:
Sony 35mm f1.8 Lens at f2 for talking head and f4 for view of the food
Mode: M
Exposure: 1/50
Format: XAVC S HD
Record setting: 24p 50m
Focus area: center
metering mode: center
picture profile: off
autofocus: on