View the Latest Sony Lens Deals At: B&H Photo

Palhil

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Paul Hill
Hi

At the end of last year, I bought a ZV-E10 with the kit lens and then added a couple of other lenses that I thought would give me a good range. I am still a novice and unfortunately, I had a busy year and wasn't able to get out to use the camera and lenses very much. However, recently I have noticed that one of the lenses is behaving oddly. I think it might be a fault but I thought I should ask before I try sending it back to Sony for repair whilst it is still under warranty. Maybe I am doing something wrong. The other lenses work fine.

The lens I'm having issues with is the Sony E PZ 18-105 mm (SELP18105G)

When I turn the camera on the lens seems fine to begin with but then appears to start randomly losing connection to the camera. It will zoom in and out and display F-- on the screen. After doing this three or four times it finally loses connection completely. If I try to use the zoom controls the screen says the lens is invalid. Turning the camera off and on starts the sequence again.

Here is a video that shows what happens.

https://youtu.be/Tjeq3ZY1m-E?si=Cnl-QVnEYzsvnzeP

I have tried gently wiping the contacts of the camera and the lens with a soft cloth but this has made no difference. Is there anything else I could try or should I just contact Sony for a repair?

Any help is gratefully received. Thanks

Isopropyl alcohol on a swab first , and scrub them, they that aren’t fragile.

Hi