Hello from Los Angeles

Da7cream

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Dave
Hello. I am totally new to photography. I was gifted with an A7C w/ a 55mf18z. I have no idea what to shoot as a beginner. Any advice would be appreciated.

Hi Dave,

Any place is great to take photos, I will recommend near Los Angeles area El Matador beach in Malibu, it is a beautiful place and also you will enjoy the ocean. Try to arrive early around 9 AM, they have a small parking lot with reasonable rates, around $10 for the day.

The Getty Villa in Malibu has a beautiful patio, arquictecture and arts (free admission, $20 for parking, you will need to reserve your visit).

For city views the Getty museum (free admission, $20 for parking, temporarily requires a reservation) and the Griffith Observatory (free admission, parking hourly rates or free parking down the hill) have great city views.

Enjoy it !

Hello. I am totally new to photography. I was gifted with an A7C w/ a 55mf18z. I have no idea what to shoot as a beginner. Any advice would be appreciated.
Welcome to the Forum Dave. Gifted an A7C with a great lens. Excellent! What part of "LA" are you from? I am originally a South lander.

Welcome!
I agree with the suggestions from @albpez378 especially the Getty Museum, lots to take pictures of inside and out.

What kind of photos do you gravitate towards? There are so many things to choose from I agree; people (portraits), places (landscape), people/strangers in action (street photography), to name a few. That lens will excel at portraits, but can be used for any of the examples I mentioned. You might want a zoom lens in the future (if you want to get into wild life or event photography for example), but start with what you've got!