Hello from SF South Bay Area

kmeinerth

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Kim M
Hello All!

I am immigrating from the Nikon world. Started in the late 70s with many film cameras (starting with the FE2, F100, and then digital DSLRs ending with the D750. I am an advanced amateur that has played in a few areas including: sports (children's competitive league soccer), landscape, travel, street, portraits,...

I started with Sony DSC-RX100 III -> RX100 VI -> and as of early 2023 A7C all for having a camera I take with me most all of the time.

I am now looking into a more advanced A7 and I am deciding on the A7iv, A7Rv, or waiting until the October time frame for whatever comes next. I currently very much like the A7iv, but I am worried that I will be disappointed by the EVF which is the absolute biggest issue I have with the A7C. I also very much like the A7Rv, but it may be overkill for my needs.

I mostly do photography, but I will start doing some videos mainly of my grandchildren.

I am an engineer working for AMD that has worked in many areas including video and camera subsystems. I am extremely interested in the technology and what makes a great experience and image quality. I have been lucky that my work has allowed me to travel the world and take many interesting travel photos.

I just found this forum a few days ago and I am very happy to learn and contribute. I hope that I never stop learning.

Thank you,
Kim

Welcome aboard!
If the A7C's biggest problem is its eyepiece, then you might have to go the route of larger A7 bodies (A7IV or A7RV) and those have great AF for capturing the kiddos.
On a separate note, I used AMD exclusively in my PC builds from approximately 2007 to 2017. I'm a fan. Only stopped because my jobs kept issuing me intel-powered laptops and I stopped spending money on personal desktop builds.
Cheers.