Sony A1 Sony A1: Underexposed files, but look fine on EVF.

Townie

Newcomer
Followers
Following
Name
Jay Town
I am a professional shooter and have been using a couple of A1 cameras for 2 years after 38 years with Nikon and Canon. For 38 years, I relied on my lightmeter all day, everyday, but since going mirrorless, I rarely (actually never) look at the meter. I change my variables until the scene looks the way I want it to, and press the button. Perfect. Except..... I have always said that the beauty of mirrorless is that there is no need to chimp your photos after you take them, because you have already chimped them before you press the button. Most of the time that is correct, but I find that when I'm shooting in really low light, especially with a nice subtle colour in the sky and also especially if the subject is silhoetted against that sky, there is a problem when I download the images. The images in this case are 3 to 5 stops underexposed. To the point, that there is no way I would have taken the picture if it had've looked that dark through the viewfinder.
I have spoken with my Sony rep at length about this, and we are both stumped. And no, I am not activating Bright Monitoring.
This only happens a couple of times a year. otherwise I would get into the habit of chimping very shot taken like this.
Has anybody had the same issue?

In the attached image, the top of the Memorial Cross was plainly visible in the viewfinder.

Attachments

• under.jpg
    under.jpg
    87.3 KB · Views: 133
Hi did you shoot with live view on? if so that will be the issue more than likely. You should turn it off in low light.

Bear in mind on play back you see a jpg extract from the Raw file and not the Raw image if indeed you are shooting in Raw.

Hi did you shoot with live view on? if so that will be the issue more than likely. You should turn it off in low light.