Following
Name
Loke
Country
Norway
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
Hello!

Im a fairly new photographer, and i have the A7R. I do enjoy this camera for shooting still objects, but lately i've been starting to look for a new camera. I feel that the A7R is quite slow on the autofocus and bursts, and im also a little annoyed of the shutter sounds, so an electronic shutter would be nice.

So far i've mainly taken photos of nature, landscape, big animals, tried some macro and also tried at birds. I've been looking into both the A7R IV and the A7 IV. Where i am located theese cameras goes for almost the same prices now.

I talked a little to a mate of mine, and he is really good at wildlife, but especially bird photography. He recommended me the A7 IV - and this seems like newest and fastes camera, with the best autofocus, but i cant stop thinking about those juicy 61 megapixels the A7RIV gives :D I do like to crop a little in lightroom, and i dont think im going to be the most avid bird-shooter.

Is the focus system so much better and faster on the A7IV? Any other major differences between the cameras?

Anyone has some tips on my way? Thank you so much!

Is the focus system so much better and faster on the A7IV? Any other major differences between the cameras?
I have the A7 IV and A7R III.

As to the specific question about focus:

Sony has improved focus ability with each iteration. Compared to the A7 IV, the original A7 and A7R are pretty archaic. Even the difference from the A7R III to the A7 IV is substantial. The A7R III was one of the earliest cameras where Sony's advancements in focusing were noted by reviewers.

Where the A7R III will sometimes bounce or hunt, the A7 IV locks on like a rabid dog. There were two cameras in between the R III and the IV, those being the A7 III and A7R IV. Each one has slight improvements over its predecessor.