Followers
Following
Name
Loke
Country
Norway
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
I'll put this in beginner questions, because i still feel like im a beginner in the photographic world :D

When taking photos, do you use the viewfinder or the lcd? Or maybe a mix between them both? I started taking pictures on mirrorless, under a year ago, and i only use the LCD, but i see many people using the viewfinder. Is the viewfinder an old relic and use of it old habits from mirrorless? I can imagine one can get more stability putting the cam on the face and closer to the body, but other than that is there any benefits on todays cameras?

🤔

Solution
Viewfinder 99.5% of the time. Screen if I'm holding the camera over my head or down low. I shoot a lot in bright sunlight and refuse to fight with it, plus I don't see how anyone could pan and track a fast object accurately while holding the camera steady without an anchor point. I suppose like anything else the right amount of practice would get results.

Most people don't consider use-case for others, they typically think about their own experiences. That's normal human nature, but there are a lot of different scenarios where one may be better than the other. Both have value depending on the need.
Viewfinder 99.5% of the time. Screen if I'm holding the camera over my head or down low. I shoot a lot in bright sunlight and refuse to fight with it, plus I don't see how anyone could pan and track a fast object accurately while holding the camera steady without an anchor point. I suppose like anything else the right amount of practice would get results.

Most people don't consider use-case for others, they typically think about their own experiences. That's normal human nature, but there are a lot of different scenarios where one may be better than the other. Both have value depending on the need.

Solution
Mostly use the view finder for several reason but the LCD is useful at times.
Benefits of the EVF: