Site Supporter
Site Supporter
Followers
Following
Country
United States
CC Welcome
  1. Yes
Heading to Norway on a 2 week coastal cruise in 2 weeks. I want to photograph the aurora borealis. I own the Sony 20mm, f 1.8, will that do the job? I understand the Sony 14 mm f 1.8 gm would be ideal for astro. If you own the 14mm gm what other genres do you use it for other than astro? Thanks for your opinions.

Heading to Norway on a 2 week coastal cruise in 2 weeks. I want to photograph the aurora borealis. I own the Sony 20mm, f 1.8, will that do the job? I understand the Sony 14 mm f 1.8 gm would be ideal for astro. If you own the 14mm gm what other genres do you use it for other than astro? Thanks for your opinions.
Sorry Clide no help on this one mate, its not anything I have ever tried :)

I've been going to Norway for 10 years on a regular basis for extended durations (I'm a visiting Professor at a University there) and I have even been to Svalbard during the winter, but I have never managed to see the northern lights, good luck! However, over the past weeks the Northern Lights have been rather prominent, with observations in the north of England, even rating a mention on the BBC News, so you may be in luck. There is also a lot of solar activity at the moment, with a large 'solar storm' on Friday, but I'm not sure that this will continue for a couple of weeks. Good luck, I look forward to seeing your photographs.

Hi Clide,
the 14mm or 20mm would be good for the aurora Borealis, the 14mm will of course give the extra wide angle but at those times when i have shot astro , mainly the milky way and stars, i have used the 20mm f1.8 and this gives a reasonably short exposure time and avoids star coma or star trails.....15-30seconds exposure time.

The 14mm and the 20mm will tend to exhibit edge distortion at low f numbers so you may want to stop the lenses down to f2.0 or more to avoid this.