The Sony World Photography Awards is one of the world’s leading photography competitions. Not only is it free to enter, there is also a prize fund of up to $30,000 (USD), as well as worldwide exposure for all winning, shortlisted and commended photographers.

sony world photography awards

The Sony World Photography Awards has four competitions:

  • Professional – 10 categories, judged on a body of work
  • Open – 10 categories, rewarding the most outstanding images. Entries submitted to this competition are automatically entered into the National Awards based on nationality.
  • Youth – For all photographers aged 12-19, a single image responding to one brief
  • Student Focus – For those studying photography

You can find further details and entry information here:

Please note: All competitions for the 2018 Sony World Photography Awards are now closed. The 2019 Awards will open June 1, 2018.

If you can’t wait till June, then The 2018 ZEISS Photography Award is still open for entries until Feb 6, 2018.